CuteCarry

Confession of an Asian StyleHolic

Culture Appreciation @ National Museum

I am in 'I want to learn culture in fun way' outfit. Zara stripes top, Levi hipster jeans, Guess 'Cairo' Messenger, Diesel shoes.
I am in ‘I want to learn culture in fun way’ outfit. Zara stripes top, Levi hipster jeans, Guess ‘Cairo’ Messenger, Diesel shoes.

As part of my cultural appreciation program which I just created this year, I went to visit National Museum yesterday – alone. This is part of my strategy for not wasting too much, well… kind like not too much money. The feeling is different from the feeling of visiting malls. No pressure, I just relax because at the end of the day I know I get knowledge (yes…..erm kind of!)

It’s been like 20 years since my last visit this museum (I am not old!) and I am so surprised it changed like 400%. The space seems bigger and the artifact/exhibit kind like double in quantity. I am trying to catch my breath to visit all the galleries and other museum. FYI in the compound they have about 3 museum- national, Malay World and Orang Asli (indigenous).Plus the café and shop and flea markets- It’s the most exciting part, tell you later!

If you think this is an old museum with old boring thing, well you are only half correct. Most of the exhibits are old but not really boring if you know how to appreciate it- like I did, YES. To add to the excitement, the facilities is modern and interactive.

Here some of the snaps from the CULTURAL APPRECIATION @ MUSEUM.

The main entrance to the compound

The main entrance to the compound

Hundred of krises

Hundred of kris

They perform the ritual to one the kris in order to refresh the kris spirit. I can smell the burn incense everywhere!

They perform the ritual to one the kris in order to refresh the kris spirit. I can smell the burn incense everywhere!

These are the real skeletons from Borneo section

These are the real skulls from Borneo section

Ice Aged movie at Pre Historic Weapons section, r u kidding me?

Ice Aged movie at Pre Historic Weapons section, r u kidding me?

Spacious gallery

Spacious gallery

A very old, cool vest. I love red. Vest with Quran verses written all over it. Believe to protect those who in it during war battle.

A very old, cool vest. I love red. Vest with Quran verses written all over it. Believe to protect those who in it during war battle.

These existed thousand years before Tods and Chanel two toned flat!

These existed thousand years before Tods and Chanel two toned flat!

One of the 'forts' in the gallery

One of the 'forts' in the gallery

Faces of malays from the Malay Archipelago at Malay World Museum

Faces of malays from the Malay Archipelago at Malay World Museum

Something waiting for me at Orang Asli (Indigenous) Etnologi museum

Something waiting for me at Orang Asli (Indigenous) Etnologi museum

Move over Demi and Britney, this should grace the cover of every mags- A topless mom!

Move over Demi and Britney, this should grace the cover of every mags- A topless mom!

Malay house

Malay house

Malaysian 'Barbie'
Malaysian ‘Barbie’ for Sale

Now the best part. Apart from my cultural appreciation, I also did a session called cultural shopping. It is a lot of things to buy here. My first impression is museum is only to see skulls and rocks but the best thing is we not only see but we can buy it! There are like a row of shops and a Museum Shop! If you are looking something to put in your living room, you can buy like unique and exotic items here. Just take your time to enjoy the galleries, eat something at the café and shop, just like me.

Row of shops selling everything from traditional umbrella to kris!

Row of shops selling everything from traditional umbrella to kris!

0921

In the end, I bought 17 documentaries:-

i. Muslim Shrines in South Africa

ii. Malay Sea Seafarers

iii. Pandak Mat

iv. Minangkabau Malay

v. Malaysia the Missing Puzzle

vi. Malay Custom (that include circumcise- I’ve experienced it, so I know how it feels)

vii. Aborigines Wood Carving

viii. Chinese Nine Kings Celebration

ix. Sabah Bisaya Community

x. Perak River Heritage (my hometown-can’t wait to watch it)

xi. Kampung Air Labuan Community

xii. Randai

xiii. The Art and Custom of Hut Tribe Circumcision (I’ve been circumcise, but not under this custom)

xiv. Sarawak Malay Wedding Custom

xv. Indochina Malay Champa Community

xvi. Thaipusam

xvii. Batik

093

Also two books

i. A stroll through Borneo by James Barclay

ii. Expedition to Borneo by David Macdonald

Wow… I felt so in culture! The point when I am at the cashier, I can feel the proud aura, it’s like everyone at the counter looking at me with amazement. I bet they will think me as a very cultured young guy who really interested in his own history and custom. I knew it. BTW, I spend like almost RM400 (about USD100).

P/s: I really hope they museum staff could smile and greet the visitors. This is one of the most visited for foreign tourists. PLEASE show the BEAUTIFUL MALAYSIAN CULTURE.

Final Pic- the beautiful Malay Wedding Dais ... MAGNIFIQUE!

Final Pic- the beautiful Malay Wedding Dais ... MAGNIFIQUE!

Very final pic- my reflection (with Rayban)

Very final pic- my reflection (with Rayban)

January 18, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

1 Comment »

  1. kelass gi muzium sengsorang..last time i went there masa pameran hantu tahun 2002..but now it looks so different..dah buat re-vamp of the interior kot..

    Comment by Bye-T | January 18, 2009


Leave a Reply

