CuteCarry

Confession of an Asian StyleHolic

Sarawak Cultural Village

From Sabah to Sarawak. I just love Borneo, and it never fails to impress me. That is what I am never tired and always excited to visit this exotic region. It is just like me the Asian exotic boy wondering in ancient exotic place wondering for a piece of exotic ………! (For you to fill in!).

As I told you in my earlier entry, my Borneo trip is ALWAYS work related but it doesn’t mean it is purely work. Love to have something in between, especially when you are in a place where the head hunters roam and chop heads roams quite some time ago!

If you want to see the room where this head hunters sleep and how they have fun (after chopping head of course), fork out RM60 a head to enter Sarawak Cultural Village!

I went to this amazing live museum with my friend and it is located less than an hour drive from the Kuching. I just can’t stop myself from chatting with the driver which is very well versed about Sarawak and almost anything. Talk about where to eat, he knows where to get the best ‘ayam penyet’, talk about economy, he knows about the stimulus plan and he even knows about who is among the richest guy apart from Bill Gates and Oprah and Darfur crisis. I am really, really impressed, considering he is only a driver without any significant qualification. He is even better than some of so called ‘executives’ I’ve known!

082

For your information, SVC is a museum where you can experience Sarawak multi- ethnic s lifestyle. It is NOT like some so called live museum and what they only exhibit is a pottery “Made in China’ in 2001 and claim it is REAL! SVC is REAL.

 These are my moments at Sarawak Cultural Village, driver not included!

 0231

Posing at Sarawak Cultural Village Café. Did I eat something? Of course not! I need to maintain a slim figure with flat tummy……

0281

In one of my signature pose at Bidayuh House. Look at the Bidayuh Girls; I am not sure if they are impressed with my pose or laughing with my ‘over the rainbow’ move!

027

Bidayuh traditional musical instruments made from shell… it sounds like do re me!

 

036

Me with Pua Kumbu. There are so many Pua Kumbu motives and not everyone can perform the weaving process. You must ‘receive’ a dream that tell you what type of motives. If you weave the wrong motives, then something bad will happen… including death to the weaver! Wow… if someone dream about me and weave the Pua Kumbu with myself as the motives but look bit overweight, he or she will die too. Believe me!

0321

Kain ikat, some of the masterpieces at Iban House.

 037

This is the stage for Borneo Rainforest World Music Festival, held every year.

0391

The wood pavement that connected the houses, yes.. the mud won’t spoil your Chanel flat!

046

Me in front of Orang Ulu House. Be careful when you climb the house!

0481

Worth a climb, the Orang Ulu dance.

113

Really worth a climb, you can buy Orang Ulu snack cook in Orang Ulu kitchen.

0531

In front of Melanau House.

043

Playing hide and seek with Penan guy at Penan Hut clad in loincloth. I supposed I can wear that too!

 

059

Demure boy at Malay house…

060  

 

This auntie will sing…

 

061

And this auntie will dance with you. Move away Travolta, this joget is better!! Joget Lambak aka disco version in Malay way in Malay house. It is really fun…and this auntie is really energetic…

 

0631

Malay house attic… during ceremony, the virgin lady will be stationed here. One of staff told me, if you saw someone up here, just ignore her. SCARRY….. call me modern guy, but I quite believe there is something apart from human, animals and plant in this world. The virgin spirit is said to be here.

068

The reason is to protect the girls. But the best part is, the girls can throw handkerchief to guy they adore, it is kind like an approval that the girl is ready to marry that particular guy! Hmm…. Now all the girl need is money…  throw money to a guy you want, and you get one!!! 

FYI, the one who try to throw something is me, not a girl, not yet a women, only Asian styleholic!

 

055

Malay house ‘backyard’… plays spinning top with a traditional clad Malay guy.

 

0711

Again.. Me in Madonna I’m Breathless pose!

 

074

Getting Cheesy at Chinese House

 

0751

This is a pepper tree in Chinese house compound. Once upon a time it is a very important commodity in Sarawak. We dash pepper on our food or as a weapon during sale, just spray the pepper to anyone who try to ‘steal’ that Prada bag at 70% less.. It works!

 

078

Don’t forget to watch the spectacular performance before you leave, plus you can joget lambak again!!!

 

Click here for SVC!

February 19, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized |

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

